Miso Soup For the Soul

by lnmorrow

I do my best to include at least one nourishing dish with each meal.  Last night we had a hodge podge dinner.  I had finally found white miso in the refrigerated section of Whole Foods (by the tofu) and it had been sitting on the shelf in the refrigerator for a good two weeks.  Time to make soup.  I used this recipe:

Mellow White Miso Soup

5 cups of water

1/4 cup chopped scallions

1 Tbs. tamari sauce

1/4 cup white miso paste (I used Miso Master Organic)

*optional adds ~ 1/4 cup shredded carrot, 3 oz sliced mushrooms, wakame (seaweed -it will need to be boiled ~20 mins)

Boil water.  Add mushrooms, scallions, carrot, and tamari.  Reduce to medium heat and simmer, uncovered, 10 mins, or until veggies soften.  Reduce heat to low & pour some of the hot soup mixture into a bowl (~1/4-1/2 cup).  Add miso paste, blend well.  Add the miso mixture back to the pot of soup and simmer for 2 minutes.  Be careful not to boil.

I cut cubes of extra firm tofu and dropped them in the bottom of the individual serving bowls and poured the soup on top.  I omitted the carrots and mushrooms because we were out.  Viola!  Miso soup just like in a Japanese restaurant.

I plan to make a pot a few times a week, because it was so easy and a nice treat on a cold day.  Miso soup is the Asian version of chicken soup.  Actually, the nutritional benefits are not a fair comparison.  Here is what I discovered from my Google research:  It strengthens the immune system and reduces the risk of breast, prostate, lung, and colon cancer.  It is high in antioxidants, which prevents the signs of aging.  It contains protein, vitamin B12, B2, E, K, tryptophan, choline, dietary fiber, linoleic acid, and lecithin.  It even helps reduce the symptoms of menopause.

The best part for me was that it just felt good to nourish my family.  I had high hopes for yesterday.  It was the first evening off I had in awhile.  I envisioned an evening full of books, cuddles, and laughter.  Instead my boys were loud and wild and a bit unruly.  I felt defeated before I headed to the kitchen.  Nothing turned out as I planned.  Once the kids were in bed, I thought about that miso soup.  It sounds silly, but, I felt better about the day knowing I made something nourishing.  I did one thing right.  Some days we are wonder mom.  Utterly and completely spectacular.  Other days, well, not so much.  It’s important that we do not compare our not so much days to our wonder woman days.  Find the one moment you did something right and then let it go and enjoy the rest of your quiet evening.

This recipe came from the cookbook, The Sacred Kitchen, by Robin Robertson and Jon Robertson.  I cannot recommend this cookbook enough.  I love it.   It was printed in 1999.  You can find it here.

