Kids and Veggies. How to Foster a Love Affair

by lnmorrow

Getting kids to eat veggies can be challenging and frustrating.  Cooking a healthy meal only to have the whole family throw it away and order pizza is defeating.  I’ve been there.  Sometimes it’s easy to throw in the apron and stick to processed, cheesy, gooey foods that everyone raves about.  Why not?  It’s a quick meal and everyone is happy.

Unfortunately, happy doesn’t mean healthy.  I would rather have a healthy, happy family.  This path takes some work, but it is possible for your kids to be as excited about a glass of carrot juice as they are about a milk shake.  It doesn’t happen over night, but if you are committed to teaching your children how to make healthy choices and eat a wide variety of wholesome foods, the reward is huge. Imagine your child not having food issues, eating disorders, diabetes, and living a long healthy life as an adult.  That is what motivates me.  It has been a process and I have tried many different tactics over the years.  Some were successful, others complete fails.  I know many people have a resolution to start eating more healthy and when you have children this is a good time to include the whole family.

I plan to keep this section running as part of a series and share the things that have worked for us.

Juicing

I have juiced for awhile and every time I juice without my kids help they take a sip and say, yuck!  However, when they do all the juicing on their own something magical happens.  They not only LOVE the juice, they talk about it all day.  Yesterday my 3 year old made juice all by  himself.  The only thing I did was cut the apple.  He even washed the veggies and fruit on his own.

I selected these ingredients for the first day; carrots, celery, apples, mini cucumbers and acai.  He will choose today.

Sneaking a peek at his hard work.

He did a fantastic job and the juice was very tasty.  He sat with his cup of juice cradled in both hand, slurping through a crazy straw, singing, “Delicious, delicious, so so nutritious.”  It doesn’t get better than that.

He hunted around the kitchen for ingredients for his next juice and decided to add pears to the list.

He was so excited to wake up today and show his dad and brother his new skill.  He wouldn’t even let them see these pics yesterday because he wanted to surprise them.

I love his enthusiasm.

My tiny little juicer.

